Symbols · HYB INV

Hybrid inverter

A single inverter with PV, battery and AC ports, combining MPPT charging, battery inversion and backup output.

In plain English

What does Hybrid inverter mean?

A hybrid inverter combines a solar maximum power point tracker, a bidirectional battery converter and an AC inverter in one unit. It typically has three port types: PV DC input, battery DC terminals and an AC grid connection, with many models adding a separate backup or essential load output that stays supplied with operating power during a network outage.

A simple example

Single-line diagrams show one inverter block with multiple DC inputs and one or two AC outputs, and the internal DC bus is sometimes drawn as a dashed line. The essential load board, isolators for each port and the grid connection point should all be shown.

Identify the device and formRead the connections and stateCheck the equipment reference
A guide to reading this reference. The original symbol illustration and its drawing notes appear below; these boxes are not a wiring diagram.

What the drawings help you do

The symbol does not state how fast the backup output transfers, whether the battery can be charged from the grid, or what export limit applies. Those depend on the settings and on network operator rules, not on the block itself.

This particular reference

A single inverter with PV, battery and AC ports, combining MPPT charging, battery inversion and backup output. A hybrid inverter includes PV and battery ports in one unit; an inverter-charger usually has a battery port only and relies on separate solar chargers.

DC
Direct current: electricity flowing in one direction.
AC
Alternating current: electricity whose direction changes periodically.
Terminal
An identified point where a conductor connects.

Read the source: Multi RS Solar official product and documents · Solar electrical system architecture

SLD · HYB INVHybrid inverter: original educational illustration
Original educational illustrationNot to scale · See source and graphic notes

What it represents

A hybrid inverter combines a solar maximum power point tracker, a bidirectional battery converter and an AC inverter in one unit. It typically has three port types: PV DC input, battery DC terminals and an AC grid connection, with many models adding a separate backup or essential load output that stays energised during a network outage.

Single-line diagrams show one inverter block with multiple DC inputs and one or two AC outputs, and the internal DC bus is sometimes drawn as a dashed line. The essential load board, isolators for each port and the grid connection point should all be shown.

The symbol does not state how fast the backup output transfers, whether the battery can be charged from the grid, or what export limit applies. Those depend on the settings and on network operator rules, not on the block itself.

How to read it

  • Identify every DC and AC port and its isolator.
  • Separate the backup output circuits from normal circuits.

Information to show or reference

  • State PV, battery and AC ratings.
  • Show backup load board and isolators.
  • Reference export limit and transfer behaviour.

A distinction that matters

A hybrid inverter includes PV and battery ports in one unit; an inverter-charger usually has a battery port only and relies on separate solar chargers.

Sources you can follow

These public references support the explanation and provide further detail. Their graphics and downloadable files remain with their publishers.

Multi RS Solar official product and documents

Public combined inverter, charger and solar tracker documentation.

Victron Energy · Public reference checked 13 October 2026 · Link only

Solar electrical system architecture

Public solar electrical system architecture context.

Texas Instruments · Public reference checked 27 October 2026 · Link only

About this graphic

This illustration was authored independently by Elora Grid to explain the concept. It is not reproduced from a customer drawing, an official standard graphic or a manufacturer CAD file. Its correspondence to an exact IEC or IEEE symbol identifier has not been certified.

SVG and DXF downloads contain this original artwork. DXF uses unscaled drawing units; a GA envelope supplies no product dimensions, clearances or fabrication information. Original artwork is available under CC BY 4.0. Third-party references retain their own terms.

Entry JSON · Entry Markdown · Last editorial update: 28 October 2026

Put the reference into a drawing workflow.

Elora Grid helps electrical teams work with drawings, specifications and equipment information. Explore the drafting workflow or join the early-access waitlist.

Explore drafting